Fort Bend County DWI Lawyer

Photo of a Man Drinking Alcohol while Driving

DWI Lawyer in Fort Bend County

Did you get pulled over after having a few drinks at the Lonestar Saloon or another local bar on your way home? If a Fort Bend County police officer stopped you, and you are facing DWI charges, you’ll want a criminal defense attorney to fight for you.

DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) convictions can have serious consequences, including:

  • Jail time
  • Suspension of driving privileges
  • Heavy Fines

At Napier Law Firm, we help people like you avoid the dire consequences you face with a DWI conviction. A DWI lawyer in Fort Bend County can help get your charges dismissed entirely or reduced. Call us today to schedule a free consultation and discuss your DWI charges.

Why Choose Napier Law Firm for Your DWI Case in Fort Bend County?

Napier Law Firm has helped thousands of Fort Bend County residents navigate the legal complexities to avoid DWI convictions.

Our founder is a former assistant district attorney and represented Texas for many years before founding Napier Law Firm. He understands the intricacies of DWI cases:

  • He knows common mistakes police make during stops.
  • He is aware of the prosecutor’s strategies and the challenges they can present in your case.
  • He knows the ins and outs of Fort Bend County’s legal system

As a result, he uses his experience and knowledge to fight the dire consequences of a DWI conviction.

Apart from this, he is a criminal law specialist, whether it’s negotiating a favorable plea deal or aggressively representing you in court. The district attorney’s office provided him with the Trial Lawyer Excellence Award for his exceptional courtroom trial skills. 

Furthermore, legal directories also recognize his criminal law expertise. Some of them include:

  • 10/10 rating – Avvo
  • 10/10 rating – Justia
  • Rising star – Super Lawyers
  • Top 40 under 40 – National Trial Lawyers

Listen to what Fort Bend County residents have to say about our firm:

“Mr. Napier was very professional and helped me more than I can express. He helped me every step of the way with my case and made it easy to understand. I’ve gotten my case successfully dismissed, thanks to him. I would recommend Mr. Napier to any of my friends or family 5 STAR” James

Call us today to schedule a free consultation and discuss your charge with a DWI attorney, our Fort Bend County, TX, DWI lawyer.

When Would You Face a DWI Charge in Texas?

Having a drink and getting behind the wheel does not automatically result in DWI charges. You break the law when

  • Your BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) limit reaches 0.08% or above, and you take control of a motor vehicle
  • The BAC limit is below 0.08%, but affects your driving abilities

What Are the Consequences of DWI Convictions in Texas?

The consequences of a DWI conviction vary depending on the frequency of the offense and the injuries caused to others.

First-Time DWI Offenders

Committing a first-time DWI offense is a class B misdemeanor. Offenders can face the following penalties:

  • A fine of up to $2,000
  • Jail time up to 180 days
  • Driver’s license suspension for up to one year

However, if your BAC level was 0.15% or higher when the police officer pulled you over, even though it was your first time, it’s a class A misdemeanor. As a result, you can face harsher penalties, which are the same as a second-time DWI offender.

Second-Time DWI Offenders

Committing a second-time DWI offense is a class A misdemeanor. Second-time offenders can face the following penalties:

  • A fine of up to $4,000
  • Jail time up to a year
  • Driver’s license suspension for up to two years

Third-Time DWI Offenders

Committing a third-time DWI offense is a third-degree felony. Third-time offenders can face the following penalties:

  • A fine of $10,000
  • Jail time between two years and ten years 
  • Driver’s license suspension for up to two years

Furthermore, if they charge you with a class A misdemeanor or felony and the court finds you guilty, the judge may also require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.

The consequences mentioned above do not include the fees you may need to pay to the public safety department and other departments. They also vary depending on your frequency of offense.

DWI Offenses Involving a Child Passenger

Transporting a child under the age of 15 as a passenger while intoxicated is a third-degree felony. It’s a separate offense, and you can face additional penalties:

  • A fine of up to $10,000
  • Jail time up to two years
  • Driver’s license suspension for up to 180 days

Remember, these penalties are in addition to the DWI penalties mentioned above.

DWI Offense Involving a Crash Resulting in Serious Bodily Injury or Death

If you’re driving while intoxicated and the crash occurs, the charges become severe.

If the crash results in serious bodily injury to others, you can face third-degree felony charges. The consequences of third-degree felony charges are discussed above.

However, if the crash results in the death of others, you can face second-degree felony charges. Second-degree felony charges carry punishments of:

  • A fine of up to $10,000
  • Jail time from two years minimum to up to 20 years maximum

Additionally, you may have to pay civil damages if the victim files a personal injury lawsuit. In addition to the economic and noneconomic compensation you may have to pay, you may also be responsible for punitive damages.

DWI charges are serious and can affect every aspect of your life, whether career or personal. Contact us today and discuss your DWI charges with our experienced DWI lawyers in Fort Bend County, Texas. They can provide you with the best defense.

Police Officer Performing A Breathalyser Test On A Man

Potential Defenses Against DWI Charges

Every case is unique and requires a different approach. The defense strategies your attorney can use against your DWI charges will depend on your circumstances.

However, some common defenses available against DWI charges include:

Invalid Traffic Stop

You may challenge the validity of a stop for suspicion of DWI. If you did not violate any traffic laws and the police officer who pulled you over did not provide the reason for the stop, your criminal defense lawyer may argue that the initial stop was illegal.

Miranda Defenses

Your Miranda rights refer to:

  • Right to remain silent
  • Right to have an attorney

If the police officer did not inform you about your Miranda rights after the DWI arrest, you can challenge any statements and evidence you provided.

Questioning the Field Sobriety Test

You can challenge the field sobriety tests as they are subjective. Field sobriety tests can be easily influenced by:

  • Fatigue
  • Medical conditions
  • Nervousness

Additionally, the administration of the field sobriety test may be flawed. The police officer may not have explained the instructions correctly or conducted the test improperly.

Our experienced criminal defense attorneys have helped many people in Fort Bend County fight their critical DWI charges. They can help you, too. Contact us to discuss your case with them.

Schedule a Free Consultation and Let Us Handle Your DWI Case for You

At Napier Law Firm, we believe everyone deserves a second chance to correct their mistakes and move forward in their life. Our past should never dictate our future. Furthermore, our criminal justice system was created to reform society and make people’s lives better rather than punishing them.

Napier Law Firm aims to protect your rights by providing you with the best defense you deserve. Schedule a free consultation and discuss your DWI case with an experienced DWI lawyer today. If you are facing other criminal charges and need a criminal defense lawyer in Fort Bend County, our firm is here to provide dedicated representation tailored to your specific situation.


Free Consultation

Free consultation – 24 hours a day.
7 days a week.

Schedule Consultation