December 22, 2022
In Houston, Texas, Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is a serious crime that can have severe consequences, including the suspension of your driver’s license. If you have been charged with DWI in Houston, it is important to seek the assistance of a criminal defense attorney who can help protect your rights and defend you against these charges.
Don’t face a judge or jury for Driving While Intoxicated without a Houston criminal defense lawyer you can trust. Contact The Napier Law Firm today at 713-470-4097 to schedule your free case evaluation.
Driver’s License Suspension in Texas
In Texas, the length of a driver’s license suspension for a DWI offense depends on the specific circumstances of the case and the individual’s prior DWI history. For a first-time DWI offense, the license suspension can range from 90 days to 1 year. For a second DWI offense, the license suspension can range from 180 days to 2 years. For a third or subsequent DWI offense, the license suspension can range from 180 days to 2 years, or it may be permanently revoked.
|DWI Offense||License Suspension|
|First-time offense||90 days to 1 year|
|Second offense||180 days to 2 years|
|Third or subsequent offense||180 days to 2 years or permanent revocation|
In addition to a license suspension, you may also face other penalties if you are convicted of DWI in Houston, including fines, jail time, community service, and the installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
There are several defenses that a criminal defense attorney can use to challenge a DWI charge in Houston and help you avoid a license suspension. For example, your attorney may argue that the traffic stop or the field sobriety tests were not conducted properly, or that the breathalyzer test was faulty or administered incorrectly.
If you have been charged with DWI in Houston, it is important to seek the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. An attorney can help you understand the charges against you and advise you on the best course of action to take. They can also represent you in court and work to negotiate a plea bargain or have the charges against you dismissed.
If you have had your driver’s license suspended as a result of a DWI charge in Houston, your attorney can also help you navigate the process of getting your license reinstated or helping you obtain an occupational driver’s license. This may involve completing certain requirements, such as completing a DWI education program or installing an ignition interlock device.
Contact A Houston Lawyer For DWI Charges Today
Driving While Intoxicated first-time offenders are recommended to consult a Houston criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. Your attorney can assert your rights, help prove your innocence, and potentially, get your charges decreased or dismissed.
Contact The Napier Law Firm today to schedule your free initial consultation for first-time Driving While Intoxicated offenses in Houston. We also serve Harris County, Montgomery County, Houston County, Galveston County, Conroe County, and Fort Bend County.