May 30, 2022

A depiction of the police arresting individual facing assault charges in Houston, Texas.

An assault charge in Texas can lead to devastating penalties. Depending on the nature of the offense, criminal history, and other factors, defendants can face incarceration, fines, probation, and more if convicted. If you’ve been arrested and charged with assault in Texas, it’s in your best interest to consult with an assault defense lawyer as soon as possible. 

Don’t wait until it’s too late to hire a top-rated criminal defense lawyer for your case. At The Napier Law Firm, our assault lawyers are skilled, experienced and won’t settle for anything less than the best possible outcome in your case. Contact us today at 713-470-4097 to schedule your free initial consultation. 

Continue reading to learn Texas assault charge basics in the sections below. 

What Is An Assault in Texas? 

The definition of assault in Texas: According to Texas assault laws (Texas Penal Code § 22.01), an individual commits assault if they intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly: 

  • Cause injury to another person (otherwise known as assault with bodily injury)
  • Threaten another person with bodily harm 
  • Cause physical contact (regarded as offensive or provocative) with another person 

That means that you can be charged with assault in Texas even if you don’t make physical contact with them. Generally, a credible threat of physical harm can lead to assault charges. 

How Serious Is An Assault Charge in Texas? 

All criminal offenses should be considered “serious.” That’s even truer for assault charges. Depending on the nature of the crime, criminal history, and other factors, the consequences of an assault conviction can have a major impact on your life. That includes, but is not limited to: 

  • Misdemeanor or felony assault criminal record 
  • Jail or prison sentence
  • Fines
  • Community service
  • Challenges finding work or safe housing 
  • Firearm restrictions 

Learn more about the penalties for assault charges in Texas below. 

Penalties For Texas Assault Charges

Every assault case is different. The prosecution can levy Texas misdemeanor or felony assault charges depending on the nature of the offense. However, the general punishments for assault in Texas include: 

  • Class A Misdemeanors (most serious Misdemeanor) – Up to one year in jail and up to $4,000 in fines. 
  • Class C Misdemeanors (least serious misdemeanor) – Up to six months in jail and fines up to $2,000. 
  • First Degree Felony – Between 5 – 99 years imprisonment and up to $10,000 in fines. 
  • Second Degree Felony – Between 2 – 20 years imprisonment and up to $10,000 in fines. 
  • Third Degree Felony – Between 2 – 10 years imprisonment and fines up to $10,000. 

The exact assault charge against a defendant  (i.e., aggravated assault vs simple assault) depends on several factors, including the victim’s age, pregnancy status, occupation, etc. 

Further, an individual is more likely to face harsher assault penalties if they are repeat offenders, the offense involved drugs, the victim was choked, or it involved a domestic relationship. 

Can Assault Charges Be Dropped in Texas? 

No criminal defense lawyer can tell you how to beat an assault charge in Texas. However, one thing is clear: an experienced assault attorney can significantly increase your odds of a successful outcome in your case. 

Depending on the facts of your case, your Houston assault lawyer can mount several defenses including, but not limited to: 

  • Self-defense
  • Defense of others
  • Defense of property 
  • Mistaken identity 
  • False accusations 

If you’re being charged with assault, the most crucial step you can take is to call a skilled lawyer for assault cases as soon as possible. Your Houston assault lawyer can potentially negotiate with the prosecution to get the charges dropped or reduced to a less severe offense. Below, learn how our criminal defense team can help you. 

Contact A Houston Assault Lawyer Today

Representing yourself or working with anything less than the best assault attorney in Houston (for your circumstances) is a recipe for disaster. If you’ve been arrested and charged with assault in Houston, Montgomery, Harris, Galveston, or Fort Bend, we’re here to help. 

We’re available around the clock to listen to your side of the story and begin mounting the best criminal defense strategy for assault charges. Contact The Napier Law Firm today to schedule your free initial consultation with a skilled lawyer for assault charges.